Duo Paganissimo

Duo Paganissimo Duo Paganissimo Duo Paganissimo Duo Paganissimo

Duo Paganissmo was founded in 2001 by Andrej Lebedev and Jewgeni Schuk. The majority of the repertoire consists of original compositions by Niccolo Paganini after whom the duo is named. Unknown to many, the most famous violinist of the nineteenth century was also an excellent guitar player.

Duo Paganini also perform pieces fom Russian composers like Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, Strawinski as well pieces from Spanish and South American masters as for example Sarasate, Granados or Piazzola. Some of the pieces of have been transcribed and newly arranged by Andrej Lebedev. The guitar is more than an accompanying instrument. It is an equal duo partner to the violin. This makes for a variety and diversity in the programme and is evident on the CD brought out in 2003.

Jewgeni Schuk is currently concert master in the Stuttgart state theatre and is professor for Chamber Music in the University of Music Würzburg. He studied in the Tschaikowski Conservatory in Moscow. He has performed with almost all leading Russian musicians (Sv. Richter, G. Bashmet, V. Spivakov among others).

Duo Paganissimo

Duo Paganissimo Duo Paganissimo Duo Paganissimo Duo Paganissimo

Das Duo Paganissimo wurde von Andrej Lebedev und Jewgeni Schuk 2001 gegründet. Einen großen Teil des Repertoires besteht aus Original-Kompositionen des Namensgebers des Duos, Niccolo Paganini. Der wohl bekannteste Violinvirtuose des 19. Jahrhunderts war – was viele nicht wissen – auch ein begnadeter Gitarrist.

Des weiteren spielt das Duo Stücke russischer Komponisten, wie Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, Strawinsky sowie Werke spanischer und südamerikanischer Meister wie zum Beispiel Sarasate, Granados oder Piazzolla. Teile des Repertoires wurden von Andrej Lebedev für die Besetzung Gitarre/Violine transkripiert und neu arrangiert. Viele Stücke wurden in dieser Besetzung noch nie aufgeführt. Dabei ist die Gitarre mehr als nur Begleitinstrument, sie ist gleichberechtigter Duopartner der Violine. Dies ermöglicht – wie auch auf der CD der beiden Musiker (2003 eingespielt) deutlich hörbar ist – eine große Abwechslung sowie eine enorme Vielfalt in der Programmzusammenstellung.

Jewgeni Schuk ist zur Zeit erster Konzertmeister des Orchesters des Stuttgarter Staatstheaters und Professor für Kammermusik an der MHS Würzburg. Er hat in Moskau am Tschaikowsky-Konservatorium studiert. Er spielte mit fast allen weltbedeutenden russischen Musikern unserer Zeit zusammen ( Sv. Richter, G. Bashmet, V. Spivakov u.a.).